• Therapeutic Cataract & Refractive
  • Lens Technology
  • Glasses
  • Ptosis
  • Comprehensive Eye Exams
  • AMD
  • COVID-19
  • DME
  • Ocular Surface Disease
  • Optic Relief
  • Geographic Atrophy
  • Cornea
  • Conjunctivitis
  • Myopia
  • Presbyopia
  • Allergy
  • Nutrition
  • Pediatrics
  • Retina
  • Cataract
  • Contact Lenses
  • Lid and Lash
  • Dry Eye
  • Glaucoma
  • Refractive Surgery
  • Comanagement
  • Blepharitis
  • OCT
  • Patient Care
  • Diabetic Eye Disease
  • Technology

American Academy of Optometry announces 2021 award recipients


The American Academy of Optometry (AAO) announces its 2021 Award Recipients. These awards recognize distinguished individuals who have made important contributions to advancing the profession of optometry.

2021 recipients

· Stephen A. Burns, PhD, FAAO — Charles F. Prentice Medal and Lecture Award

· Konrad Pesudovs, OD, PhD, FAAO — Glenn A. Fry Award and Lecture (American Academy of Optometry Foundation Award)

· Bina J. Patel, OD, FAAO — AAO-Essilor Award for Outstanding International Contributions to Optometry

· Gang Luo, PhD — William Feinbloom Award

· Robert E. Molter, Jr., OD, FAAO, and Kimberly S. Molter, OD — Brien Holden Humanitarian Award

· Tawna L. Roberts, OD, PhD, FAAO — Irvin M. and Beatrice Borish Award

· Raymond Kraker, MSPH — Carel C. Koch Memorial Medal Award

· Hannah R. Gregory, OD, MS — Julius F. Neumueller Award in Optics (American Academy of Optometry Foundation Award)

· Paul Chamberlain, BSc (Hons); Sofia C. Peixoto-De-Matos, MSc; Nicola S. Logan, PhD;

Cheryl Ngo, MBBS, Mmed; Deborah Jones, BSc, FAAO; Graeme Young, PhD, FAAO — Garland W. Clay Award

· Etty Bitton, OD, MSc, FAAO; Anne Mika Moy, OD, FAAO — Michael G. Harris Family Award for Excellence in Optometric Education (American Academy of Optometry Foundation Award) — Awards of the Section on Cornea, Contact Lenses & Refractive Technologies

· Carolyn G. Begley, OD, MS, FAAO — Max Schapero Memorial Lecture Award

· Joseph T. Barr, OD, MS, FAAO — Founders’ Award — Award of the Public Health and Environmental Vision Section

· W. Howard McAlister, OD, MPH, FAAO — Henry B. Peters Award for Public Health and Environmental Vision (American Academy of Optometry Foundation Award)

The Awards Ceremony will be held November 4 at 7:00 pm during Academy 2021 in Boston.

Related Videos
Nazlee Zebardast, MD, MSc, overviews her ARVO 2024 presentations on glaucoma and polygenic risk scores
Shelley Cutler, OD, FAAO, outlines her key takeaways from this year's IKA symposium
© 2024 MJH Life Sciences

All rights reserved.