• Therapeutic Cataract & Refractive
  • Lens Technology
  • Glasses
  • Ptosis
  • AMD
  • COVID-19
  • DME
  • Ocular Surface Disease
  • Optic Relief
  • Geographic Atrophy
  • Cornea
  • Conjunctivitis
  • Myopia
  • Presbyopia
  • Allergy
  • Nutrition
  • Pediatrics
  • Retina
  • Cataract
  • Contact Lenses
  • Lid and Lash
  • Dry Eye
  • Glaucoma
  • Refractive Surgery
  • Comanagement
  • Blepharitis
  • OCT
  • Patient Care
  • Diabetic Eye Disease
  • Technology

AAOpt announces 2023 Garland W. Clay award recipients


The American Academy of Optometry recently announced the recipients of this year’s Garland W. Clay award.

Audience Applauding Speaker At Business Conference (Adobe Stock / Monkey Business)

(Adobe Stock / Monkey Business)

The American Academy of Optometry recently announced the recipients of this year’s Garland W. Clay award.

The award is bestowed on authors of a manuscript published in Optometry and Vision Science that has been among the top publications in the journal cited in the world research literature in the preceding 5 years and that received the majority vote of the Optometry and Vision Science Editorial Board.

The awardees are:

  • Donald O. Mutti, OD, PhD, FAAO
  • Loraine T. Sinnott, PhD
  • Mitchell G. Lynn, MAS, FAAO
  • Lisa A. Jordan, PhD, FAAO
  • Nina E. Friedman, OD, MS
  • Sara L. Frane, OD, and
  • Wendy K. Lin, OD

The authors received the award for the article titled “Ocular Component Development during Infancy and Early Childhood” published in Optometry and Vision Science (2018;95:976-985. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/30339640/).

Drs. Mutti, Sinnott, Jordan, and Mr. Lynn are from College of Optometry, The Ohio State University, Columbus; and Drs. Friedman, Frane, and Lin are from the School of Optometry, University of California, Berkeley, Berkeley, CA.

The Garland W. Clay award recipients will be recognized during the Awards Ceremony scheduled for Friday, October 13, at 8:00 am during the American Academy of Optometry 2023 annual meeting in New Orleans. The ceremony will be held in Ballroom C of the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center.

Michael Twa, OD, PhD, FAAO, speaking on behalf of the OVS Editorial Board, stated, “The Garland Clay award recognizes the most important paper published in Optometry and Vision Science over the past 5 years. This year’s award recognizes work by Don Mutti and colleagues who studied how the components of the eye grow and change throughout childhood. Their elegant research studied hundreds of children to establish normative growth curves and developmental expectations for human vision. This work will have a lasting impact on our understanding of refractive errors and the mechanisms underlying their progression.”

Related Videos
Jessica Steen, OD, FAAO, discusses systemic medication and ocular adverse effects at Vision Expo East 2024
The Vision Council CEO Ashley Mills gives a preview of the 2024 Vision Expo East event
Barry Eiden, OD, FAAO, FSLS, chats with Optometry Times about the 2024 IKA Symposium
Andy Morgenstern, OD, FAAO, FNAP chats with Optometry Times
Shan Lin, MD, speaks on Glaucoma 360 presentation in an interview with Ophthalmology Times
Cecelia Koetting, OD, FAAO, DIPABO, left, speaks with Optometry Times about the 2024 EnVision Summit
Bonnie An Henderson, MD, highlights key takeaways of the 2024 EnVision Summit, including diversity and family inclusion
Danica Marrelli, OD, FAAO, AAO Dipl, co-chair of EnVision Summit chats about geographic atrophy and glaucoma panels
© 2024 MJH Life Sciences

All rights reserved.