• Therapeutic Cataract & Refractive
  • Lens Technology
  • Glasses
  • Ptosis
  • Comprehensive Eye Exams
  • AMD
  • COVID-19
  • DME
  • Ocular Surface Disease
  • Optic Relief
  • Geographic Atrophy
  • Cornea
  • Conjunctivitis
  • Myopia
  • Presbyopia
  • Allergy
  • Nutrition
  • Pediatrics
  • Retina
  • Cataract
  • Contact Lenses
  • Lid and Lash
  • Dry Eye
  • Glaucoma
  • Refractive Surgery
  • Comanagement
  • Blepharitis
  • OCT
  • Patient Care
  • Diabetic Eye Disease
  • Technology

CooperVision awards Future Contact Lens Leader scholarship recipients


Winners received $1,000 toward optometric educations

CooperVision partnered with the National Optometric Association (NOA) to award 3 optometry students Future Contact Lens Leader Scholarships worth $1,000. Each winner displayed extraordinary passion for a career in the contact lens industry, according to CooperVision.

Student recipients were acknowledged on June 27, 2020, during the Virtual Scholarship Awards ceremony. This year’s winners include:

  • Christina Huynh, Kentucky College of Optometry
  • Jessica Olson Livermont, Northeastern State University Oklahoma College of Optometry
  • Richard Wan, The Ohio State University College of Optometry

Related: NIH launches clinical trials network: COVID-19 vaccine underway

Selected students were chosen based on the following criteria:

  1. Membership in the National Optometric Student Association
  2. Academic standing
  3. Demonstration of contact lens leadership based on application essays and faculty recommendations

“A commitment to a career in optometry is a commitment to changing lives. It’s exciting to see the passion that this year’s scholarship recipients have for the profession, and specifically for contact lenses,” says Steve Rosinski, OD, senior manager of professional and academic affairs at CooperVision.

“We are honored to partner with the NOA to advance their education in this way, and we look forward to seeing the impact that Christina, Jessica, and Richard will make in the years to come.”

The NOA Future Contact Lens Leader Scholarships are awarded each year to 3 eligible optometry students. In order to qualify, students must be enrolled in their third or fourth year of optometry school or entering a contact lens residency program.

Related: Ptosis therapy gets first-in-category FDA nod

Related Videos
Christi Closson, OD, FAAO, details fitting contact lenses for astigmatism and other products by Johnson and Johnson
Drs Erin Draper and Chris Cuk outline the important role optometrists have in spotting neurodegenerative disease in patients
Susan Gromacki, OD, MS, FAAO, FSLS
Nick Bruns, OD, FAAO, talks premium IOLs and EVO ICL at AOA 2024.
Mohammad Rafieetary, OD, FAAO
Susan Gromacki, OD, MS, FAAO, FSLS
Raman Bhakhri, OD, FAAO, overviews his talk on medications' potential side effects on the retina with Optometry Times
Jacobi Cleaver, OD, FAAO
© 2024 MJH Life Sciences

All rights reserved.